Board of Directors

Dear CACBT-ACTCC Members and Student Members,

We are pleased to introduce to you our 2019-20 Board of Directors:  Andrea Ashbaugh (President), David Dozois (President-Elect), Keith Dobson (Past-President), Gillian Alcolado (Secretary-Treasurer), Jacqueline Cohen (Certification Chair), Noah Lazar (Member-at-Large), Kathryn Sexton (Communications and Advocacy Chair), Madelaine Burley (Membership Chair) and Leanne Kane (Student Representative).

We are very excited to be working on your behalf. You will find biographical descriptions of all Board members below.

Best wishes,

Andrea Ashbaugh (President)


Andrea Ashbaugh
Andrea Ashbaugh, President (Term: 2018-2021)
Andrea Ashbaugh is an associate professor in the School of Psychology at the University of Ottawa and a licensed clinical psychologist in the province of Ontario, Canada. She obtained her master's and Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from Concordia University in Montreal, Quebec, Canada and completed a post-doctoral fellowship in the Department of Psychiatry at McGill University and the Douglas Mental Health University Institute, in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
David Dozois
David Dozois, President-Elect (Term: 2019-2022)
Dr. Dozois is a Full Professor of Psychology and Director of the Clinical Psychology Graduate Program at the University of Western Ontario. He is Founding Member/Fellow of the Canadian Association of Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies. Dr. Dozois is also a Fellow of the Canadian Psychological Association (CPA), the CPA Section on Clinical Psychology, the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies, and the Academy of Cognitive Therapy.
Keith Dobson
Keith Dobson, Past President (Term: 2017-2020)
Dr. Dobson is a Professor of Clinical Psychology and Head of Psychology at the University of Calgary in Canada, where he has also served in other roles, including Director of the Clinical Psychology program. His research has focused on both cognitive models and mechanisms in depression, and the treatment of depression, particularly using cognitive-behavioural therapies. He has participated in several trials of the treatment of acute depression, as well as prevention of depression. A current focus of his work is on the prediction and prevention of relapse in depression.
Gillian Alcolado
Gillian Alcolado, Secretary Treasurer (Term: 2019-2022)
Gillian Alcolado is a clinical psychologist in the Anxiety Disorders Clinic at St. Boniface Hospital in Winnipeg and assistant professor in the Department of Clinical Health Psychology at the University of Manitoba. In her clinical practice she uses cognitive-behavioural therapy to treat adults with anxiety disorders. Her research interests include the etiology, maintenance, and treatment of anxiety and related conditions.
Jacqueline Cohen
Jacqueline Cohen, Certification Chair (Term: 2017-2020)
Dr. Jacqueline Cohen is the Co-Lead of the Borderline Personality Disorder Treatment Program in Halifax, Nova Scotia. She is also the Director of Training for the Clinical Psychology Residency Program located within the Mental Health and Addictions Program of the Nova Scotia Health Authority, as well as Assistant Professor with the Department of Psychiatry at Dalhousie University and a Clinical Associate with the Dalhousie Department of Psychology and Neuroscience. She is a founding and certified member of CACBT.
Madelaine Burley
Madelaine Burley, Membership Chair (Term: 2017-2021)
Dr. Maddy Burley completed her MA and PhD degrees in clinical psychology at Ryerson University and his predoctoral internship with the Northern Ontario Psychology Internship Consortium. Dr. Burley works in private practice at CBT Associates, where she provides comprehensive psychodiagnostic assessments and CBT for a range of clinical presentations, including mood and anxiety disorders, trauma, OCD and psychotic spectrum disorders.
Kathryn Sexton
Kathryn Sexton, Chair of Communications and Advocacy (Term: 2018- 2021)
Dr. Kathryn Sexton received her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from Concordia University in Montreal in 2011. She completed her Master’s and doctoral work in the Anxiety Disorders Laboratory at Concordia University, working with Dr. Michel Dugas, an internationally renowned expert in the cognitive behavioural treatment of worry/generalized anxiety disorder. Dr. Sexton’s research in this area focused on identifying predictors of cognitive avoidance, and on characterizing the nature of intolerance of uncertainty and its underlying beliefs that operate as cognitive vulnerabilities for worry/GAD.
Noah Lazar
Noah Lazar, Member-at-Large (Term: 2017-2020)
Dr. Lazar is a Clinical Director, and Director of Training of the Clinical Psychology Residency Program, at CBT Associates. He completed his Ph.D. in clinical psychology at the University of Western Ontario, with a research focus on the neurobiology and genetics of schizophrenia. He completed his predoctoral training at St. Joseph's Healthcare, Hamilton, in their Mood Disorders Clinic, Neuropsychology Service, and their Schizophrenia and Severe Mental Illness Clinic.
Leanne Kane
Leanne Kane , Student Affiliate Representative (Term: 2019-2022)
Leanne Kane is a graduate student in the Clinical Psychology Program at the University of Ottawa, where she is completing her PhD under the supervision of Dr. Andrea Ashbaugh. For her doctoral thesis, Leanne is examining the role of post-event processing in the maintenance of social anxiety symptoms, with the goal of informing cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) for social anxiety disorder.
Alissa Pencer
Alissa Pencer, Officer - Conference Chair (Term: May 2019 - June 2020)
Dr. Alissa Pencer received her Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of Calgary in 2004 after completing her Predoctoral Internship in Clinical Psychology at the IWK Health Centre. Dr. Pencer is a Senior Instructor within the Departments of Psychology and Neuroscience and Psychiatry at Dalhousie University and a Registered Psychologist in the province of Nova Scotia.
Natalie Stratton
Natalie Stratton, Officer - Conference Chair (Term: May 2019 - June 2020)
Natalie attained her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from Ryerson University in Toronto, ON. She completed her pre-doctoral residency at the Halifax Clinical Psychology Residency Program within the Nova Scotia Health Authority.