2019 Membership - Invitation Letter




Canadian Association of Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies
Association Canadienne des Thérapies Cognitives et Comportementales


November 15, 2018


Dear Mental Health Professional,

We would like to invite you to become a Regular or Student Affiliate member of the Canadian Association of Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies (CACBT-ACTCC). Founded in 2010, CACBT-ACTCC is a dynamic organization and is the only one in Canada that is specifically geared toward  mental health providers with a cognitive-behavioural therapy (CBT) orientation. Our members include representation from a range of mental health disciplines (e.g., psychology, social work, occupational therapy, nursing, counselling, general medicine, psychiatry and more). If you are a mental health professional who lives or works in Canada who practices CBT, or are a mental health professional who would like to learn more about CBT, we think you will find a professional home in CACBT-ACTCC.

For those of you who are already CBT therapists, you know how helpful CBT can be to your clients.  If you are new to CBT, you may be interested to know that it is one of the most widely studied psychotherapies of our time. Based on principles of learning and cognitive theory, CBT features problem-focused interventions that modify cognitions as well as behaviour. Numerous research studies have found CBT to be effective in treating a wide range of disorders in children, adolescents and adults.

As a CACBT-ACTCC member you will:

  • have access to our lively list serve where you can network and confer with CBT colleagues throughout Canada and the world
  • keep up-to-date on new research findings and clinical interventions
  • learn about training and research opportunities
  • access a nationwide members directory and take advantage of our Find a Certified Therapist feature
  • enjoy our annual CACBT-ACTCC newsletter
  • be eligible to apply for certification in CBT through CACBT-ACTCC
  • enjoy deeply discounted registration rates for the annual CACBT-ACTCC conference
  • enjoy discounts on leading CBT journals (e.g., Behaviour Research and Therapy, Cognitive and Behavioral Practice)

This year’s Annual Conference will be held in Montreal, Quebec, May 3-4,2019. We are actively working to plan another exciting opportunity to highlight the science and practice of CBT, with featured addresses and workshops on topics related to health and health promotion, including mindfulness, panic in the context of cardiovascular disease, insomnia, overcoming resistance, and more! Please be sure to visit our websiteoften for updates on conference events, speakers and, of course, our upcoming call for submissions.

The CACBT-ACTCC Certification Committee is working on certifying qualified members.  Certification may be of interest to CBT practitioners who want their skills and training officially recognized. Visit our website for the latest information on application for certification.

Join now! Don’t miss this opportunity to become part of a great organization. Go to our website at www.cacbt.ca today and apply to become a CACBT-ACTCC member for 2019 (the membership year is from January 1 to December 31, 2019).  The annual fee for Regular Members is $100 plus tax and $50 plus tax for Student Affiliates. You can always get the latest news by following us on Twitter (twitter.com/CACBT) or “Liking” us on Facebook (facebook.com/CACBT).

With best wishes,

Maddy Burley, Ph.D., C.Psych. (supervised practice)
Membership Chair, CACBT-ACTCC

2018-2019 Board of Directors:

Keith Dobson
Ph.D., R.Psych             
Andrea Ashbaugh
Ph.D., C.Psych              
Melisa Robichaud
Ph.D., R.Psych              

Secretary-Treasurer Chair
Guillaume Foldes-Busque
Psy.D., Ph.D.                           

Certification Chair
Jacqueline Cohen
Ph.D., R.Psych

Membership Chair
Maddy Burley
Ph.D., C.Psych 
(supervised practice)   

Noah Lazar
Ph.D., C.Psych
Diana Kljenak

and Advocacy Chair
Kathryn Sexton

Student Representative
Joelle Soucy



Conference Chair  (co-chaired)
Kim LaVoie,  Ph.D.