Fellows - Nominations are now open

CACBT is pleased to offer full Members the option to become nominated as a Fellow.

What is a CACBT Fellow?

A Fellowship status is the highest honour bestowed by CACBT to highly distinguished full members. Fellows of CACBT shall be Members in good standing who have made outstanding and distinguished contributions to the practice, science, training and/or advocacy of cognitive and/or behavioural therapies within the Canadian context.  Note: The key words for this award are “outstanding and distinguished”: the nominee must truly stand out among one’s peers.

Criteria and Procedure for Nomination of Fellows 

  • Fellows of CACBT shall be Members in good standing who have made outstanding and distinguished contributions to the practice, science, training and/or advocacy of cognitive and/or behavioural therapies within the Canadian context.
  • Nomination deadline: March 31, 2021
  • Nominations may be solicited by the Board, or by a Fellow, Certified Member, Founding Member, or Member.
  • Nominations MUST be written by CACBT members in good standing and include:
    • An up-to-date CV of the nominee.
    • A brief signed statement from the nominee indicating that s/he is interested in being considered for the status of CACBT Fellows, and if awarded, would accept the designation in person at one of the next three CACBT annual events.
    • Two or more letters of nomination outlining the reasons why the nominee should be considered (see below). Letters of nomination should outline how the nominee has contributed to:
      • Practice (in which case, some information about why their practice is considered to be a distinguished contribution).
      • Science (in which case, some evidence of the impact of the research should be provided).
      • Training (in which case, some specific details about their role in training or the impact of their training should be provided), and/or
      • Advocacy (in which case, specific evidence of their advocacy efforts and impact should be provided).
      • These contributions should be greater than what one might expect from a “career contribution” to cognitive and/or behavioural therapies.
  • In most situations, the nominee should have completed their training ten years prior to being nominated for the status of CACBT Fellow.
  • Nominees should not currently be a CACBT Board member.

How do I apply to become a CACBT Fellow?

CACBT announces the call for nominations of Fellows every year in January. Applications are to be sent to the Past-President by March 31, 2021. Applicants are nominated at the annual CACBT Conference normally held in May. Successful candidates will receive a certificate indicating their Fellow status within CACBT at the Annual Convention.

  • Nominations should be sent to the Past-President of CACBT-ACTCC in PDF format: andrea.ashbaugh@uottawa.ca
  • The Nominations and Awards Committee members will review all nominations and associated documents, and will discuss the strengths and weaknesses of each nomination. At least 2/3 of the membership of the CACBT Nominations and Awards Committee must approve a nomination for it to be accepted.
  • Decisions will be announced first to each nominee by email or letter. Successful nominees will be designated at one of the next three CACBT-ACTCC annual events – normally at the AGM. Nominees must be present to receive their Fellow status.

If you have any questions, please contact us at info@cacbt.ca using the subject line: Fellowship Inquiry

Related Documents

CACBT is honoured to have the following members recognized as Fellows:

Martin Antony (since 2015)
Gordon Asmundson (since 2017)
Colleen Carney (since 2015)
Alexander Chapman (since 2016)
David Dozois (since 2015)
Deborah Dobson (since 2020)
Gail Myhr
(since 2021)
Keith Dobson
(since 2021)
Michel Dugas (since 2015)
Heather Hadjistavropoulos (since 2016)
Thomas Hadjistavropoulos (since 2016)
Trevor Hart (since 2016)
Mark Lau (since 2018)
Randi McCabe (since 2018)
David Moscovitch (since 2016)
Martin Provencher (since 2019)
Adam Radomsky (since 2015)
Sanjay Rao (since 2018)
Karen Rowa (since 2019)
Ingrid Söchting (since 2015)
Debbie Sookman (since 2015)
Maureen Whittal (since 2015)